Ride with the Rhone Rangers for our Washington DC debut at City Winery

Ride with Rhone Rangers DC 2019

Coming March 26 and 27, 2019: big wine-tasting events featuring 17 American wineries’ Rhone-style wines at City Winery. Over 60 wines to taste.

Rhone Rangers

Hot on the heels of 2018’s Rhone in the USA event at the Smithsonian, here come the Rhone Rangers — back, and with reinforcements!

“Rhone Rangers” is about promoting wines made with grapes and styles common in southern France: Cote du Rhone. For Team Great Big Reds, syrah and mourvedre are the key grapes. But, there are many grapes and blends, including many white wine grapes.

If your red wine experience is 10 million bars with the same four by-the-glass grape choices, a Rhone tasting might be eye-opening. And definitely tasty!

Events

Events are at City Winery, 1350 Okie St. NE, Washington, DC.

Tuesday, March 26, 2019, 6-9pm there is an evening tasting event ($60). Earlier in the day there are trade events. Wednesday at 7pm is the Winemaker Dinner ($85).

Nearly all the winemakers from #RhoneInTheUSA will be back, plus skads of their fellow rangers. We’ll be glad to see Bonny Doon, Horton, Ridge, and Tablas Creek back in DC again, and glad to learn about many more.

See below for my round-up of the websites and Twitter handles.

Event links:

The Wineries

I took a look at the winery websites.

Looks like a good range of styles and vineyard sizes. Some very cool cool-climate syrahs, but also some very undainty wines. Some wineries are pretty big such that it’s easy to find them in wine stores and even grocery stores with good selections. Others seem to be pretty small scale.

Links and Twitter handles:

Bonny Doon Vineyard bonnydoonvineyard.com @BonnyDoonVineyd
Epoch Estate Wines epochwines.com @epochwines
Halter Ranch Vineyard halterranch.com @halterranch
Hope Family Wines hopefamilywines.com @hopefamilywines
Horton Vineyards hortonwine.com @HortonWine
J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines jlohr.com @JLohrWines
Morgan Winery morganwinery.com @morganwinery
ONX Wines onxwine.com  
Petrichor Vineyards petrichorvineyards.com/ @petrichorwines
Qupé qupe.com @Qupewines
Ridge Vineyards ridgewine.com @RidgeVineyards
Tablas Creek Vineyard tablascreek.com @tablascreek
Tenet Wines tenetwines.com  
Tercero tercerowines.com  
The Withers Winery thewitherswinery.com  
Two Shepherds twoshepherds.com @2ShepherdsWine
Wrath wrathwines.com @WrathWines

2018 Rhone in the USA Smithsonian Events

If you’re curious about the Smithsonian events last year, see: